violet syrup, a forager’s delicacy

On mother’s day, I was treated to something I had never experienced before, violet infused champagne.  I fell in love.  I rarely drink, or enjoy the drinks I order, but the tingling taste of violets on my tongue was simply euphoric.  I asked how it was made and was told that just a dash of violet syrup was added.  A spark instantly lit up in my brain… violets grow wild all around Virginia, and syrup is one of the easiest things in the world to make.  So, I experimented, and the outcome was exactly what I had hoped for, a delicious, all natural, foraged rendition of, what I’m sure was a heavily processed and flavored, violet syrup.   Please, do yourself a huge favor and try this.

plate-of-violets

Collect violets by pinching them off at the top of the stems.  Remove the calyxes (the green base) by twisting the petals free.  You want only petals.  Gather 1.5 cups of tightly packed petals.

Put the violet petals into a heat-proof, small stainless steel saucepan or bowl and add 1.5 boiling water. Stir to make sure the petals are completely submerged. Cover and let sit at room temperature for 24 hours. The liquid will turn a gorgeous clear blue with a slightly lavender hue.  Strain out the petals and discard them.

petal

Fill a slightly larger saucepan with an inch or so of water and rest the smaller one inside it. Add 2 cups of coconut sugar or raw sugar to violet liquid and heat over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until sugar has completely dissolved. Let syrup cool to room temperature, then transfer to glass jars and store in the refrigerator for up to 6 months.

Use your violet syrup in sparkling water, lemonade, sorbet, and, or course, champagne.

lem

3 thoughts on “violet syrup, a forager’s delicacy

Leave a comment